Category Archives: General Knowledge

Commercial Bank List in Nepal

Commercial Bank can be described as a financial institution, that offers basic investment products like a savings account, current account, etc to the individuals and corporate. Along with that, it provides a range of financial services to the general public such as accepting deposits, granting loans and advances to the customers. It is a profit making company, which pays interest at a low rate to the depositors and charges higher rate of interest to the borrowers and in this way, the bank earns the profit.

Commercial banks are Class ‘A’ type Financial Institutions. Nepal Bank Limited (established in 1937 AD) is the first commercial bank in Nepal. Commercial banks perform all kinds of the banking business. The primary function of commercial banks is receiving deposits and lending to others. Functions of the commercial banks are; accepting deposits; advancing loan, letter of credit, guarantee, remittance, e-banking, bills etc.

As per the latest data from Nepal Rastra Bank (January 20), at present, there are a total of 27 Commercial Banks in Nepal. So far, a total of 4011 branches of commercial banks have been established across the nation.

Commercial Bank List in Nepal

  1. Nepal Bank Ltd. (NBL)
  2. Rastriya Banijya Bank Ltd. (RBB)
  3. Nabil Bank Ltd. (NABIL)
  4. Nepal Investment Bank Ltd. (NIBL)
  5. Standard Chartered Bank Nepal Ltd. (SCBNL)
  6. Himalayan Bank Ltd. (HBL)
  7. Nepal SBI Bank Ltd. (NSBI)
  8. Nepal Bangaladesh Bank Ltd. (NBB)
  9. Everest Bank Ltd. (EBL)
  10. Bank of Kathmandu Lumbini Ltd. (BOK)
  11. Nepal Credit and Commerce Bank Ltd. (NCC)
  12. NIC ASIA Bank Ltd. (NIC)
  13. Machhapuchhre Bank Ltd. (MBL)
  14. Kumari Bank Ltd. (Kumari)
  15. Laxmi Bank Ltd. (Laxmi)
  16. Siddhartha Bank Ltd. (SBL)
  17. Agriculture Development Bank Ltd. (ADBNL)
  18. Global IME Bank Ltd. (Global)
  19. Citizens Bank International Ltd. (Citizens)
  20. Prime Commercial Bank Ltd. (Prime)
  21. Sunrise Bank Ltd. (Sunrise)
  22. NMB Bank Ltd. (NMB)
  23. Prabhu Bank Ltd. (PRABHU)
  24. Mega Bank Nepal Ltd. (Mega)
  25. Civil Bank Ltd. (Civil)
  26. Century Commercial Bank Ltd. (Century)
  27. Sanima Bank Ltd. (Sanima)